Home

Biennale Venice 2017

I am selected for the exhibition “PERSONAL STRUCTURES” at the Venice Biennale 2017 (May 13 – November 26, 2017). The curatorial team of the GAA Foundation coordinates and plans this exhibition for the European Culture Center. My sculpture “SPACE KNOT” (1,2m x 1,0m x 1,0 m – Belgian granite – 1,2t) will be in the context of the exhibition as a contemporary sculpture in the Marinaressa Sculpture park. A download of the new biennial plan, with the identification of my Exhibition space is available here as a download.

Space Knot – Reality vs illusion

The sculpture’s grade of complexity and abstraction requires time, space and involvement on the observer’s side. Thus an individual process of communication with the inconsistency of material and form can develop: SPACE KNOT.

Since 2013 the I have been occupied with knots as a topic of my work. Invariably, as a logical consequence of my works’ development, first studies and sketches finally lead to the architectonic SPACE KNOT.

As my former works give equal importance to the sculpture a well as to its surrounding space, the SPACE KNOT dominates its surroundings.

The SPACE KNOT was created in 2015 in the Belgian city of Soignies at the „Rencontres Internationales De Sculpture Monumentale“, during the Belgian city of Mons being the European Capital of Culture 2015.
The SPACE KNOT consists of a single block of marble.

material- Belgian Bluestone size- 0,9 m x 1,2 m x 1,2 m weight- 1,2 t

Sculpture - Plastic

I prefer the  Sculpture opposite to the Plastic.  Both three-dimensional objects may be abstract or realistic. The plastic is created in an additive process. This means that it is formed, applied or made up of certain materials. A sculpture is carved out of an existing material. Material is removed, instead of added. This working process of the sculpture is liberating and exciting. I prefer this finality requires, of a clear focus on spatial thinking and working.

Schreib was

Schreib uns was- Jetzt

Questions, issues or concerns? I'd love to help you!

Click ENTER to chat

Home

Willkommen im Atelier Höft

KUNST AUS MARMOR, GRANIT UND SANDSTEIN

STEIN

“ ein archaisches Material, starr und fest,

jedoch voll von Leben und Emotion,

 man muss dies nur herausarbeiten „

Biennale Venedig 2017

2017 bin ich als Bildhauer für die Ausstellung „ PERSONAL STRUCTURES“ auf der Biennale Venedig 2017 ( 13. Mai – 26. November 2017) ausgewählt worden. Das Kuratorenteam der GAA Foundation koordiniert und plant diese Ausstellung für das EuropeanCulture Center. Meine Skulptur „SPACE KNOT“ ( 1,2m x 1,0m x 1,0 m – Belgisch Granit – 1,2t ) wird im Kontext der Ausstellung als zeitgenössische Skulptur im Marinaressa Sculpture park präsentiert. den Biennale Plan inclusive Position meiner Skulptur können Sie sich hier herunterladen.

Space Knot – Reality vs illusion

Das Thema Knoten beschäftigt mich seit 2013. Nach Studien und Skizzen entstand der architektonische Raumknoten. Die Komplexität und Abstraktion des Space Knots benötigt Zeit, Raum und das Engagement des Betrachters. Die Verflechtung des unbiegsamen Materials, findet nur unseren Synapsen statt. Maßgebend für diesen Leitgedanken ist für mich vor allem die Frage nach Realität und Illusion?

Das Thema des Knotens war eine logische Konsequenz meiner bisherigen künstlerischen Arbeit. Während bei meinen vorherigen Skulpturen Zentrum und Raum gleichberechtigt sind, dominiert der Space Knot seine Umgebung.

Der Space Knot entstand im Rahmen der Kulturhauptstadt Europas 2015 Mons in Belgien auf dem internationalen Monumental Skulptur Symposium Soignies. Die Skulptur ist aus einem Block Belgian Bluestone gearbeitet.

Material- Belgian Bluestone Größe- 0,9 m x 1,2 m x 1,2 m Gewicht- 1,2 t

Skulptur - Plastik

Ich bevorzuge die  Skulptur gegenüber der Plastik.  Beide dreidimensionale Objekte können abstrakt oder auch realistisch sein. Die Plastik jedoch wird in einem additiven Verfahren geschaffen. Dies bedeutet, dass sie aus bestimmten Materialien geformt, aufgetragen oder zusammensetzt wird. Eine Skulptur wird aus einem bereits bestehenden Material herausgearbeitet. Material wird abgetragen statt hinzugefügt. Das man beim Arbeitsprozess der Skulptur keinen Schritt zurück geht, empfinde ich befreiend und spannend. Diese Endgültigkeit erfordert einen klaren Focus auf das räumliche Denken und Arbeiten.

Schreib was

Schreib uns was- Jetzt

Questions, issues or concerns? I'd love to help you!

Click ENTER to chat